I’ll Give You The Sun by Jandy Nelson

 

untitled.png



Author: Jandy Nelson

Genre: Fiction, Young Adult

Description: From the author of The Sky Is Every­where, a radiant novel that will leave you laughing and crying – all at once. For fans of John Green, Gayle Forman and Lauren Oliver. Jude and her twin Noah were incredibly close – until a tragedy drove them apart, and now they are barely speaking. Then Jude meets a cocky, broken, beautiful boy as well as a captivating new mentor, both of whom may just need her as much as she needs them. What the twins don’t realize is that each of them has only half the story and if they can just find their way back to one another, they have a chance to remake their world

Star Rating: 5/5


Hey everybody!


Today’s book review is going to be about one of my favourite books of all time. I’ll Give you The Sun has two main protagonists; Noah and Jude. The novel follows their lives, through flashbacks and in present day. We get to know each of the characters from a young age, when nothing bad happened in their lives, and when they’re older and something tragic has happened to them, which has caused both of them to deal with it in different ways. Jude is dealing with the ghosts from her past – literally – and she has a massive burden from that, whereas Noah has distanced himself from his fraternal twin Jude.


The thing that I find beautiful about this book is how art is the central theme of it – it is literally the glue holding every little storyline and fragment together. Art brought Noah and Jude close to people before they even knew it, and it’s a coping mechanism for them when they mature. Other characters revolve around art as well; Oscar is someone who we get to know from both perspectives, and Guillermo is an artist who Jude seeks comfort in, but needs that comfort himself. It’s honestly so beautiful and refreshing to see art as something that has naturally brought every storyline and character together.


The book also highlights different aspects of mourning and coping, as well as secrets being a burden on people. That’s another thing that makes this book special – seeing it from different perspectives gives the book such a refreshing storyline. Amongst the main storyline, there are so many other things that they have to cope with; sexuality, jealousy, and finding a purpose, to name a few.


I’ve given this book 5 stars because there isn’t a single flaw that I can pick out of it. Every little detail connects in ways that you don’t even realise when you first read it. I re-read it straight after I finished it and I realised how many insignificant things actually linked, which added to the detail and thought-out storyline. Another factor that was incredibly fascinating was that both the characters had half of the story, which you didn’t realise until you delved deeper into the book. The characters were people that you could connect to, and honestly when I was reading the book it didn’t feel like I was actually reading, it felt so real that you forgot they were just words on paper. Sometimes, when you read a book you have to push yourself through a slow and sombre beginning/middle/end, and I was delighted when I didn’t have to push myself through it at all – I managed to read it with a comfortable ease due to the number of captivating storylines.


As I said before, this book has to be one of my favourite books I have ever had the fortune to read. If you have read the book then I sincerely hope you share my view, if you haven’t read the book then I encourage you to read it, and I hope you enjoyed reading this post.


Happy Reading!

Bethan

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s